Block 5 leads from the front

Last Wednesday I gave Jaw on the effects of deforestation in the rainforests of Borneo, which I have been interested in since doing a conservation project on Orang-utans when I was 11. Next July I will be going to Borneo with two current Bedalians and two OBs with Earthwatch to help PhD students conduct research to help rejuvenate destroyed areas of rainforest. As deforestation and the effects of the palm oil industry are issues that I feel students should know about, I did a student sponsored Jaw. This is a scheme that allows students to speak to the school on an issue and in return the school donates a sum of money to an organisation or charity. Doing Jaw was a great experience; it is incredible to have the opportunity to speak to so many people about something that you are passionate about and I was pleasantly surprised to have so many students come up to me to either congratulate me or show their support. I feel as though I have made a difference and I’m glad that other Bedalians also feel strongly about ecological issues.

By Ally Swain, Block 5

*************************************************************************************************

Bedales School is one of the UK’s top independent private co-education boarding schools. Bedales comprises three schools situated in Steep, near Petersfield, Hampshire: Dunannie (ages 3–8), Dunhurst (ages 8–13) and Bedales itself (ages 13–18). Established in 1893 Bedales School puts emphasis on the Arts, Sciences, voluntary service, pastoral care, and listening to students’ views. Bedales is acclaimed for its drama, theatre, art and music. The Headmaster is Keith Budge.

Leave a Reply

