Fresh perspectives on Bedalian life

DSC_0061Malik and Noelia enjoying Badley Weekend

By Noelia Carbajal, Groton School, Massachusetts
Bedales, or England for that matter, is unlike anything I had anticipated. Perhaps because my initial suppositions were based solely on the six season Netflix series, Downton Abbey, which takes place before World War One. Though there is no one quite like Lady Mary and her sisters, Bedales and its residents were a lovely surprise. The campus is absolutely stunning. I’ve enjoyed all of my classes, especially Ancient Civilizations with Chris who took us to Butser Farm and Stonehenge. I look forward to continuing Latin throughout my school years and even taking an archaeology class someday! I’ve made so many great friends here at Bedales and I hope to stay in contact with them. Thank you!
Malik & Noelia (Groton students)

MALIK AND NOELIA (right) with their new bedales friends

By Malik Gaye, Groton School, Massachusetts
Now that my month at Bedales is coming to a close, I think my time here has been bittersweet. At first, I felt like I was sent  into a school where I knew virtually no one and especially didn’t know how to maneuver my way around the campus. The latter usually ended up with me having to retrace my steps and ask where a certain place was. But as I got used to my schedule, the people, and the general culture, I found that I was enjoying my time here. I was making friends and finally could make my way around campus on my own. As soon as I realized this, I also realized that my time here had a deadline. It’s not like I didn’t miss home and my friends because I definitely did. But it was the sense that there was so much more to experience here at Bedales and that I wouldn’t get to experience it that saddened me. I have definitely enjoyed my time here and wouldn’t change anything about it. This month has really flown by and I will miss those I have become close with. I hope that more Grotonians will have the priviledge to come and enjoy all that Bedales has to offer.

Leave a Reply

